Share this article

"Mysterium Tremendum Et Fascinans" Limited Edition Screen Print By Faith47 For StreetArtNews. 1

Faith47 returns for her second print with us after her first was an instant sell-out. It’s beautiful. And she delivers it with the casual grace of a master craftswoman. The release date of “Mysterium Tremendum Et Fascinans” was decided to coincide with the New Moon on December 2nd, 2013 which will happen at 5:22:19 PM MST (Mountain Standard Time)

This artwork was inspired by the german theologian Rudolf Otto, referencing his analysis of the spiritual experience that, in his view, underlies all belief in deities, the supernatural, the sacred, the holy and transcendent. 
He calls this experience “numinous,” and designated the Latin phrase: mysterium tremendum et fascinans.The numinous is “wholly other”– entirely different from anything we experience in ordinary life. It evokes a reaction of silence. But the numinous is also a mysterium tremendum which is the tendency to invoke fear and trembling with its overwhelming power. 
Finally, the numinous presents itself as fascinans, merciful and gracious with a tendency to attract, fascinate and compel. — Faith47

“Mysterium Tremendum Et Fascinans” is an edition of 47, it measures 56 x 56 cm, nine layer hand-pulled screen-print on on Fabriano Tiepolo 290gsm with four deckled edges. The print comes signed and numbered by the South African painter.

“Mysterium Tremendum Et Fascinans” will be available in our store right HERE on Monday, December 2nd at 7PM UK for 119.99£ each.
Timezone conversions : (Melbourne: 6.00AM, New York: 2.00PM, Los Angeles: 11.00AM, Tokyo: 4.00AM, Moscow: 11.00PM)

"Mysterium Tremendum Et Fascinans" Limited Edition Screen Print By Faith47 For StreetArtNews. 2

"Mysterium Tremendum Et Fascinans" Limited Edition Screen Print By Faith47 For StreetArtNews. 3

"Mysterium Tremendum Et Fascinans" Limited Edition Screen Print By Faith47 For StreetArtNews. 4
"Mysterium Tremendum Et Fascinans" Limited Edition Screen Print By Faith47 For StreetArtNews. 5
Faith47 "Mysterium Tremendum Et Fascinans" vienna
Faith47 “Mysterium Tremendum Et Fascinans” In Vienna
Rom Levy

About Rom Levy

Rom is the founder & editor in chief of StreetArtNews. In 2009, he launched the ‘StreetArtNews’ website to promote underground art, which widened his scope to work with a larger roster of street artists on events and exhibitions. He is noted as one of the latest figures to help popularize street art and as an authority on the latest trends in urban contemporary art.